It’s no surprise that Victoria Secret models follow some strict diets, and Rosie Huntington-Whiteley is no exception. She follows a plan by Dr. Nigma Talib, who practices naturopathy, which is a system of treatment that focuses on diets, herbs, vitamins, and natural agents to heal, rather than surgery and prescription drugs. Dr. Talib doesn’t let you have sugar, dairy, gluten, or alcohol.

hormones after 40


The paleo diet has been picking up steam over the years thanks to its promise for a fitter physique and optimal health. Everyday Health explains the paleo diet only allows you to eat foods that were available for human consumption millions of years ago. That means all processed foods are out — but that’s not all. True paleo followers also don’t consume dairy, grains, or legumes.

Holiday weight – usually all but melted by Valentine’s Day – seems reluctant to budge when you throw your old tricks at it. If it seems that something important has shifted, you’re right. Your metabolism is slowing, and your muscle mass is decreasing. That’s a harsh reality, but there are some new tricks for you to learn to keep spry for years, even decades to come. We’ve listed 40 of them for you here so that you needn’t go gentle into that good night. Beat Menopause Belly Fat by Starving Your Fat Cells (Not Yourself)


There are plenty of fish in the sea, but salmon may be the best one for your metabolism. That’s because most cases of underactive thyroid are due to inflammation of the gland, and salmon boasts significant anti-inflammatory properties thanks to its rich omega-3 fatty acid content. In fact, one study that looked at the effects of weight loss and seafood consumption showed salmon to be the most effective at reducing inflammation—better than cod, fish oil, and a fish-free diet. The fishy fatty acids may also signal thyroid cells in the liver to burn more fat, a recent study published in The Journal of Nutritional Biochemistry suggests.

Getting your gut health in order is a good idea no matter what your age, but after 40, it’s essential. Improving your digestive regularity with prebiotic fiber-rich foods, like asparagus and leafy greens, may help reduce your risk of colon cancer, and can even help regulate the hormonal challenges that come along with menopause. Researchers at Tufts University School of Medicine have also found fiber effective at reducing estrogen concentrations in the bloodstream, helping you avoid the hot flashes and mood swings that can hit around mid-life.

how to build muscle in your 40s


Interval training—alternating between high-intensity bursts of movement and a moderate pace—has been shown to amp up metabolism for up to 24 hours postworkout. "You don't have to do a lot to see the benefits," says Wayne Westcott, PhD. "Aim for 15 to 25 minutes of interval training 3 or 4 days per week." If you're just getting started or have a lot of weight to lose, do walking or stationary cycling intervals, which are easier on the joints. If you want to challenge yourself, lace up your sneaks and jump rope or go for a run.
If you’re on the fence about whether to buy organic, this news may sway you: Fruits, vegetables, and grains grown without pesticides keep your fat-burning system running at full-tilt because they don’t expose your thyroid to toxins, Hyman says. Nonorganic produce, on the other hand, “blocks your metabolism mainly by interfering with your thyroid, which is your body’s thermostat and determines how fast it runs,” he explains.
The editor and all-around fashion powerplayer says she avoids dieting in general (spoken like a true French woman), but does have a couple of preferred beverages for keeping her svelte, couture-ready figure. "I'm very lowkey with my body," she told StyleCaster recently. "I drink green tea all day long, and at night I drink vodka." As for fitness, she prefers ballet.

how to lose weight at 45 years old female


At the grocery store, take a turn down the organic produce aisle. Pesticides found on conventionally grown produce, called "obesogens," are blamed for slowing metabolism and predisposing some people to gain weight. "One of the biggest hidden causes of weight loss resistance is toxicity," says Virgin. "Buy organic whenever possible and choose the cleanest, highest-quality cuts of meat," says Virgin.
A striking new study published in the journal Diabetes suggests that simply turning on the AC may subtly transform a person’s stores of brown fat, the “good” fat stimulated by cold temperatures, that serves to keep us warm by burning through “bad” fat stores. Participants spent a few weeks sleeping in bedrooms with varying temperatures: a neutral 75 degrees, a cool 66 degrees, and a balmy 81 degrees. After four weeks of sleeping at 66 degrees, the men had almost doubled their volumes of brown fat. Cool! (In fact, your bedroom is an often-overlooked weight loss booster. We found 20 Surprising Ways to Lose Weight While You Sleep.)
According to celebrity nutritionist, Kelly LeVeque (her clients include actress Jessica Alba and supermodel Molly Sims), you should already be following a healthy eating plan well before you hit the big 4-0, but it’s especially important to be cognizant of your diet once you pass that milestone. So, we tapped LeVeque for her best nutrition tips for staying slim, cutting health issues and boosting skin health as you make your way through that fourth decade of life. WHAT I EAT IN A DAY-STAYING SLIM OVER 50
After a hard day at work, it’s temping to zone out in front of the TV. But did you know lean people watch less? A recent analysis of studies found that for every two hours spent watching TV, the risk of developing diabetes or heart disease, and early death increased by 20, 15 and 13 percent, respectively. Scientists are still figuring out exactly why sitting is so detrimental to health, but one obvious and partial explanation is that the less we move, the less fuel we require; the surplus blood sugar floods the bloodstream and contributes to diabetes and other weight-related risks that crop up in the 40s and beyond. 

Slimming down over 40 doesn’t have to mean meager meals. In fact, eating a big breakfast might just help you reach those goals. In fact, a 2013 study reveals that women who ate the bulk of their calories at breakfast lost more than twice as much weight as those who had the majority of their calories later in the day. And for more health news, check out the 30 Weirdest Things You Do in Your Sleep.

best diet for middle aged woman


To clarify, we’re not betting that all the marinaras in the pasta aisle should be avoided like the plague—just some. Processed pasta sauces may contain tomatoes or tomato paste as the first ingredient, but oftentimes, these sneaky saboteurs also contain loads of inflammatory oils, added sugar, and salt. And alfredo sauce is no exception: the creamy white stuff can contain around 20 grams of fat per half-cup serving—an excessive amount to ingest in one sitting.

fastest way to lose weight around the stomach


Research has found that people burn fewer calories when they sleep during the day and log their waking hours after the sun’s gone down. To come to this finding, researchers at the University of Colorado at Boulder studied 14 healthy adults for six days. For two days, study participants slept at night and stayed awake during the day, then they reversed their routines to mimic the schedules of night owls. When participants slept during the day, researchers found that they burned 52 to 59 fewer calories than they did while catching their Zzzs in the evening—likely because the schedule messed with their circadian rhythm, the body’s internal clock that plays a major role in metabolism function. If you have no choice but to sleep during the day, aim to cut 50-60 calories from your daily diet.

Muscles are what keeps our metabolism high and as we age, our muscles slowly start to get smaller, therefore allowing our metabolism to slow down. To counteract this, Shapiro recommends that we start lifting weights. “No, you won’t get big and bulky. In fact, you’ll stay lean,” she says. That’s because weight training causes you to burn more calories per workout than cardio sessions, and you continue to burn them post workout. And that’s not all—click here to discover 40 Ways to Lose 4 Inches of Body Fat!

healthy food for 40 year old woman


Bodybuilders have known for years that strategically placed ‘cheat meals’ can help prevent the metabolic slowdown mentioned above. One meal every five to seven days that contains as many carbs and calories as desired can work. Just make sure not to make a habit out of cheat meals. In fact, you could also just as easily eat clean each day and meet your calorie needs, rather than consistently depriving yourself, then occasionally indulging.  

weight gain after 40 years old


13. You’re popping too many pills – regular use of painkillers, antibiotics, indigestion tablets, poor quality supplements and other medications can over-burden your liver and damage your gut lining. As well as potential side effects (many of which are weight gain), too many medications can cause a build up of toxins and can upset your gut flora balance. 

reasons for weight gain after 40


Tired of starkly staring at the bags under your eyes every morning? (Pun intended!) Fortunately enough, this summer fruit can help you look doe-eyed way past the big 4-0! “Though it may sound counterintuitive, the high concentration of water in watermelon can actually reduce the water retention that leads to puffiness around the eyes,” says Baumann. “And because watermelon is low in sugar—well, compared to many other fruits—you don’t have to worry about glycation, the chemical reaction that compromises collagen and leads to lines and wrinkles.”

how to lose weight after age 50


It can be done! I’m male in my mid 50’s and have now retired from a desk job. I’ve managed to lose around 30lbs over 12 months, and have my weight down to around 170lbs – back to around my weight 30 years ago! Now, freed from a desk, I walk much more – nothing crazy – around 8-9 miles per day ( according to my fitbit), but only around 4-5 miles of that is actually “going for a walk” the rest just general moving about!

weight loss program for over 50


Guadagnino came back into the spotlight in 2018 with the reboot of MTV’s hit reality TV show Jersey Shore, called Jersey Shore Family Reunion. In the six years since the MTV show last aired, PopSugar reported in May 2018 that Guadagnino has adopted the keto diet and launched a dedicated Instagram account where he goes by @ketoguido. He recommends eating eggs, bacon, butter, steak, fatty fish, plants, and exercising a few times each week. According to a March 8, 2018, Instagram post, Guadagnino says his old way of eating had him 50 lbs heavier and looking 10 years older.


Eva Longoria is best known for her role as Gabrielle Solis on the ABC television series Desperate Housewives. However before she was a sexy Desperate Housewife, she starred in The Young and the Restless. She has been named one of Hollywood’s most beautiful women by several publications, which isn’t surprising. At 43 years, she currently holds modelling contracts with L’Oréal, Hanes, New York & Co, and many others and has recently given birth to her first child.
VB6, the term popularized by food luminary Mark Bittman, encourages eating only vegan foods and meals until 6 p.m. This translates to a higher intake of fiber-rich, plant-based foods throughout the day. (Think walnut-topped oatmeal for breakfast rather than eggs and bacon.) Considering that the average American consumes only half of the daily recommended intake of fiber, that’s a win!
In late August 2018, the 61-year-old former Today show anchor posted on her Instagram Stories that a week into the diet she did "feel better" but hinted that she'd experienced some symptoms of the keto flu, Women's Health reports. "The fourth or fifth day, I felt a little shaky and headachy, but I feel much better," Couric said on Instagram. Suffice it to say, the mother of two is enjoying incorporating more fat into her diet. "I'm eating mostly protein and some cheese," she said. "And I'm putting half-and-half in my iced coffee, and I gotta tell ya, it's damn good."
Guadagnino came back into the spotlight in 2018 with the reboot of MTV’s hit reality TV show Jersey Shore, called Jersey Shore Family Reunion. In the six years since the MTV show last aired, PopSugar reported in May 2018 that Guadagnino has adopted the keto diet and launched a dedicated Instagram account where he goes by @ketoguido. He recommends eating eggs, bacon, butter, steak, fatty fish, plants, and exercising a few times each week. According to a March 8, 2018, Instagram post, Guadagnino says his old way of eating had him 50 lbs heavier and looking 10 years older.
“As women, we have navigated the ‘mean girl’ stage of middle school, popularity contests in high school, workplace gossip, and even the mom groups,” notes Amy Rollo, a Licensed Professional Counselor Supervisor and owner of Heights Family Counseling. “Women in their 40s are tired and smarter. They no longer base friendships on popularity, but have learned to find their people. Those people are the ones that are there for you during divorces, death of a parent, and those trying times as a parent yourself. They are the ones that would drop everything and bring a bottle of wine, ice cream, and tissues to your place in a time of need. Women in their 40s understand how to find these friends.” Oh and speaking of? Here is The Single Best Way to Make New Friends. 

Just one medium-sized carrot is bursting with 203 percent of your daily recommended vitamin A, which will help keep your skin smooth and vision as sharp as it was in your twenties! “This vegetable is orange thanks to high levels of beta-carotene, which is a precursor to vitamin A… which also happens to be a form of the main active ingredient in Retin-A (the topical ointment that helps fight dark spots, wrinkles, and acne by increasing cell turnover),” explains certified board dermatologist and Founder of Baumann Cosmetic & Research Institute Dr. Leslie Baumann. How to Lose Weight for Men over Forty - It's 80% this...
Refined carbs, such as bagels, white bread, and potatoes, create a surge in insulin that in turn promotes storage of fat and may drive down your metabolic rate, says Louis Aronne, M.D., an obesity specialist at New York Presbyterian Weill Cornell Medical Center, who recommends high-fiber carbs instead. "It's important to keep carbohydrates in your overall diet, but focus on vegetables, fruits, and whole grains, which have less of an impact on insulin levels," he explains.

weight loss drinks


We’re looking at you, Cool Whip! Since these products don’t contain cream as the primary ingredient, government regulations prohibit the brands from labeling them as whipped cream. The next best thing? “Whipped topping.” These imposters are filled with sketchy ingredients such as partially hydrogenated vegetable oil and high fructose corn syrup—two culprits your diet could definitely do without.

how to lose weight really fast


If you’re having trouble losing weight after your 40th, it’s time to ask your doctor about a thyroid screening. Women are more likely to develop thyroid health issues than their male counterparts, which can lead to symptoms like weight gain, fatigue, and depression. Fortunately, for many people, the problem can be fixed with medication and dietary modification, getting you back on track to the body you want in no time.

old women big belly


It may sound like another trendy low-carb diet, but a number of celebrities swear by the quick weight-loss effects from the keto diet. Everyday Health explains in essence, the plan is simple: 75% of your food should be fats, and only 20% should be from protein, and the remaining 5% should be from carbs. After a few days, the body enters a state of ketosis, which is when it burns fat for fuel instead of carbs. How to Lose Weight for Men over Forty - It's 80% this...

As we age, our risk for osteoporosis increases, giving you all the more reason to dig into calcium-rich foods. A great source of the bone-strengthening nutrient is milk and if you opt for the almond variety over dairy, you may be gypping yourself of real milk’s benefits. Just one glass of two-percent milk contains about 30 percent of your daily value of calcium. If you’re avoiding dairy, opt for a nut-based milk that’s enriched such as Silk Almond & Cashew Protein Nutmilk. 5 Diet Tips to Lose Belly Fat 87% Faster!

But, Bustillo cautions against hanging too much hope on this: “Many companies that sell the ‘after burn’ or ‘metabolic workouts’ are just utilizing a marketing strategy with [a grain of science behind it],” he says. “They're not technically lying, because training can increase BMR [in the 24 hours post-workout], but it's not by more than 200-300 calories on average.” [IS THAT NOT SIGNIFICANT THOUGH? THAT GETS YOU AT LEAST HALFWAY TO THE 500-CAL DEFECIT YOU NEED PER DAY TO LOSE 1-2 LBS PER WEEK. I DON'T THINK WE TOTALLY WANT TO TRASH THE PROMISE THAT HIIT CAN CREATE AFTERBURN] BEAT MENOPAUSE BELLY FAT! FIVE SECRETS
If you eat healthy and exercise regularly and still can’t lose weight, your thyroid might not be working like it should. This happens in about 5% of people, and it's most common in women and people over 60. In addition to weight gain, it can also cause fatigue, joint or muscle pain, and depression. Medications can help, so get it checked if you think it might be an issue.

It was actually the Cookie Diet (see below) that prompted Lüc Carl, Lady Gaga’s ex-boyfriend, to write The Drunk Diet. It’s a plan that fits in perfectly with the pop star’s lifestyle and she’s happy to admit it. "I am on the drunk diet," Gaga said. "I live my life as I want to, creatively. I like to drink whiskey and stuff while I am working. But the deal is I've got to work out every day, and I work out hung over if I am hung over. And it's about the cross training and keeping yourself inspired. I have to say, I do a ton of yoga."

best diet for a woman in her 40's


19. You’re eating too many ready meals – it’s so easy to get home from a busy day at work and pop a ready meal in the microwave. Trouble is, this won’t help you lose weight. Why? Because a/ processed foods are mostly made with vegetable oils that turn in to trans fats in the manufacturing process (trans fats encourage weight gain) and b/ the nutrient value is likely to be much lower than a meal cooked with food from scratch (see no. 12).
The truth: As with any eating plan, if you can stick with the lifestyle changes it advises for a long time, it might be worth a shot. Experts also advise people transitioning to a vegan diet to replace meat and dairy with foods that have a similar nutritional profile, like tofu, beans, and dark, leafy greens to ward off nutrient deficiencies. Also, instead of Bey and Jay Z's plan, which costs about $600 for 22 days, you might want to simply try going vegan with a friend.

how to lose weight after 60 female


According to celebrity nutritionist, Kelly LeVeque (her clients include actress Jessica Alba and supermodel Molly Sims), you should already be following a healthy eating plan well before you hit the big 4-0, but it’s especially important to be cognizant of your diet once you pass that milestone. So, we tapped LeVeque for her best nutrition tips for staying slim, cutting health issues and boosting skin health as you make your way through that fourth decade of life. WHAT I EAT IN A DAY-STAYING SLIM OVER 50

A study published in October 2010 in the Annals of Internal Medicine compared two groups of middle-aged people trying to lose weight and their sleep patterns. For four days, one group slept four-and-a-half hours per night, and the second slept eight-and-a-half hours per night. The members in the first group lost 60 percent more muscle and burned 55 percent less fat over the course of the study, demonstrating how sensitive the metabolism is to a lack of adequate sleep — even over a short period of time.

how to lose weight at 43 years old


The key to this metabolism diet trick is to start slowly. First, add non-exercise movement to your day. Walk more often, take the stairs instead of the elevator, carry your groceries home from the store or add a few easy exercise sessions to your routine. ​Use an activity tracker to increase your daily step count and increase your total calories burned per day.
Spreading out your protein becomes even more important as you rack up birthdays. "How your body reacts to protein, especially with smaller amounts, changes as you get older," says Dr. Paddon-Jones, noting that whereas a teenager's body will jump into full muscle-building mode even with smaller amounts of protein, your body needs more—about 30 g—to maximize muscle-protein synthesis. Another bonus: Protein staves off hunger, so you'll be less likely to snack too. 
We’re looking at you, Cool Whip! Since these products don’t contain cream as the primary ingredient, government regulations prohibit the brands from labeling them as whipped cream. The next best thing? “Whipped topping.” These imposters are filled with sketchy ingredients such as partially hydrogenated vegetable oil and high fructose corn syrup—two culprits your diet could definitely do without.

Thank you for your brilliant post. I’m now 40 and have been fasting almost everyday for 2 years. It worked wonders in the early days and like everything, I feel that my body adapted to it and I seem to now not get as much out of it. I’m thinking I should be mixing it up a little and confusing my body as to when the fasting will happen. Am I correct in thinking that? Or do you think fasting is a good daily lifestyle habit? How to Lose Weight for Men over Forty - It's 80% this...
The key to this metabolism diet trick is to start slowly. First, add non-exercise movement to your day. Walk more often, take the stairs instead of the elevator, carry your groceries home from the store or add a few easy exercise sessions to your routine. ​Use an activity tracker to increase your daily step count and increase your total calories burned per day.

The truth: First developed to treat childhood epilepsy, ketogenic or "keto" diets have become something of a fad among the Silicon Valley crew. The plan mimics starvation, sending the body into a metabolic state called ketosis. Some studies have linked the plan with a variety of health benefits from weight loss to a reduced risk of chronic disease, but it can also come with side effects like nausea, headaches, and fatigue — all of which could make it tough to stick to.

belly fat 50 year old woman


While Gaga's focus on whole foods is commendable, I probably wouldn't recommend her plan long-term since some of the foods she avoided are rich in important nutrients (a potato, for example, has twice the potassium of a banana and most of us don't meet our potassium needs). If you want to keep blood sugar levels stable without feeling like you're on a roller coaster, consume carbohydrates along with protein, fat or both (think almond butter on your toast or Greek yogurt on your baked potato). This powerful combo may calm your mood and make you feel more emotionally and physically satisfied. 

But a simple plan isn't always an easy plan. Changing your daily movement habits can be hard. So I've developed this 3-step plan to increase your metabolism while you keep your food intake the same. You'll create the energy deficit needed for weight loss without an expensive diet or hard-to-find foods. Follow the program for 2-3 weeks to increase your energy levels, boost your metabolism and put your weight loss program into hyperdrive.
This tea is known for its powerful thermogenic effects—meaning it turns up your body’s calorie-burning mechanism—and can also promote weight loss by improving insulin sensitivity. In a recent study, participants were divided into two groups where one group took a placebo 60 minutes prior to exercise and the other group ingested a 1,000-milligram capsule of yerba maté. Researchers found that those who consumed the herb increased the beneficial effects their workout had on their metabolism. Yerba maté is just one of the 22 Best Teas for Weight Loss!
I was a vegan for ten years before I started eating meat again recently due to low energy and a few health issues. I started with bone broths and putting those in my beans (that I was soaking, sprouting and 2x boiling). Then I moved to eggs. I also found a good source for raw milk and made my own kefir. My body loved all of these things and my energy Over 40? Best Method of Training!
At 80 years old, Jane Fonda still has a body that would rival any cover girl today. The actress, author, former fitness guru and fashion model has spent nearly 60 years on stage. You may also know her form her work out videos that are out on DVDs. Today, she can be seen playing hilarious, yet glamours lush, Grace on the Netflix original series, Grace and Frankie. She also stars in the soon to be released film, Book Club alongside Diane Keaton, Candice Bergan and Mary Steenburgen.
Getting the recommended 30 minutes of daily activity is a good start, but now's the time to ramp things up even more by also working in at least 10,000 daily steps. Adding in four to five weekly resistance training sessions can help you maintain your muscle mass and burn even more calories, Largeman-Roth says. (Here's why weightlifting is the best workout if you're 40+.)
“Women in their 40s come to know that, while socializing with friends is fun and rewarding, partying out late brings more burden than good,” Dr. Rosenfeld says. “They might choose to invite friends over for a quiet night in or spend their nights engaging in self care (reading, relaxing, taking a bath). Either way, they’ll get more sleep, won’t be hungover, and will face the next day energized and refreshed.”

best cardio for over 40


“Modern life puts such pressure on us to do, produce, and succeed that we often find ourselves racing from one activity to another,” Bernstein points out. “In the process, we can easily lose a sense of ourselves. Downtime brings us back to the integrity of being ourselves. In the not doing, we are open and relaxed and thus insights and creative ideas find their way to us.” Beat Menopause Belly Fat by Starving Your Fat Cells (Not Yourself)
23. You’re a serial yo-yo dieter – (this was me!) – you’re on the vicious diet treadmill. You’ve done every diet going. You lose weight initially, feel great, finish the diet, and pile it back on again (and some more). We know these diets don’t really work, but each new one has so much promise! And you’ll be more disciplined next time? It’s not about will power though – when you deprive your body of calories, healthy fat, protein or nutrients, it will go into survival mode, trying to protect you. That means your cortisol will rise, your cravings kick in and your metabolism will crash (see no 1, 2, and 20!). 

Crash diets -- those involving eating fewer than 1,200 (if you're a woman) or 1,800 (if you're a man) calories a day -- are bad for anyone hoping to quicken their metabolism. Although these diets may help you drop pounds, that comes at the expense of good nutrition. Plus, it backfires, since you can lose muscle, which in turn slows your metabolism. The final result is your body burns fewer calories and gains weight faster than before the diet. Most Effective Cardio Exercises for Women Over 40
After rising to fame in the 1970’s following three consecutive Sports Illustrated spreads, Christie Brinkley has never left our hearts. The model, actress and businesswoman is now 64 years old and has founded several successful businesses. The former partner of Tommy Lee and face of Max Factor, Diet Coke, Chanel No.19, Nissan and Revlon, Brinkley now focuses on her beauty line and is raising her three children. She still regularly graces the covers of magazines and does editorial spreads.

best 's diet for losing belly fat


Boost your fiber intake and slim down by mixing some flaxseed into your favorite food. Flax is a great source of omega-3 fatty acids, which have been shown to help reduce inflammation and promote weight loss, and they may even help you fend off another sign of aging, too: the dreaded wrinkle. Flaxseed is loaded with alpha linolenic acid, which researchers at Winnipeg’s St. Boniface General Hospital and Cuba’s VI Lenin University Hospital have linked to improvements in weight and cardiovascular status among study subjects. The omega-3s in flax have also been shown to trigger improvements in the texture and hydration of skin, fighting wrinkles in the process. 12 NIGHTTIME HABITS THAT MAKE YOU FAT
We know by now that juice “cleanses” aren’t the healthiest way to drop weight — but that hasn’t stopped certain celebrities from trying it themselves. The Sun explains this diet involves abstaining from solid food for a few days to a week in favor of consuming only juiced fruits and veggies. Unfortunately, many nutritionists find the diet to be high in sugar — and the body doesn’t need any help in “flushing out toxins,” either. How to Lose Belly Fat in 1 Night With This Diet
The keto diet has been shown to have many health benefits, including weight loss and possibly reducing the risk or severity of diseases such as type 2 diabetes and epilepsy. According to a study published in August 2013 the European Journal of Clinical Nutrition, there’s also some evidence that the keto diet can help clear up the skin, because high-glycemic foods (which are high in carbs) can promote acne.
Not that we should really argue with anyone whose nickname is "The Body," but the supermodel's method to looking so phenomenal at 51 is kind of a headscratcher for those not familiar. Relying on the ideology that an acidic body is more susceptible to disease that can throw metabolism and other things out of whack, Macpherson eats alkaline foods (including whole grains, leafy greens) and avoids things like coffee and alcohol in order to keep her inner pH balance in check. She even cops to taking pee tests in order to make sure things are in order. And she's not the only A-lister who does so: Victoria Beckham, Gwyneth Paltrow, and Jennifer Aniston are also fans—and considering that's pretty much the Good Body Brigade, we'd say they're onto something.

boosting your metabolism after 40


Like the true Italian siren she is, the iconic actress loves pasta so much, she even famously published a cookbook devoted to her native country's cuisine (1971's In the Kitchen with Love). Here's the catch: According to celebrity diet guinea pig and author of I'll Have What She's Having, Rebecca Harrington, the portion sizes are very, very small—the size of a balled-up fist. Still, it's not a bad practice to scale down refined carbohydrates, and in the end, you get your spaghetti fix. How to Fight Fat Over 40 - Fitness with PJ Webinar Exclusive

Actors and influencers who follow extreme diets to mold their bodies to play a character or to squeeze into a sample size on the red carpet may take additional measures beyond tweaking what they eat to meet their goals, according to Dr. Selzter, who often wonders whether weight-loss pills and other appetite suppressors are actually behind some celebrities' shape-shifting. MEN OVER 40 How To Increase Testosterone And Get Rid Of Belly Fat
She may be the most beautiful woman in the world, but boy did she eat some crazy concoctions. Elizabeth Taylor turned to her own, let’s say, unique recipes to shed some pounds, like cottage cheese with sour cream over fruit, a peanut butter–smothered steak sandwich, and a “controlled pig-out,” where she once ate a whole pizza and hot-fudge sundae. 
“By the time women get to their 40s, they’ve hopefully given up the notion that happiness exists within a certain shape or size,” says Stacey Rosenfeld, Ph.D., a psychologist and author of Does Every Woman Have an Eating Disorder? Challenging Our Nation’s Fixation with Food and Weight. “Instead, they find fulfillment through their connections and their work, their passions and their families.” But if reasonable weight-loss is your goal, follow these 20 Science-Backed Ways to Motivate Yourself to Get in Shape. 

"At age 40 to maintain your weight, that is to not gain weight, you're going to have to eat 100 calories less a day, and that has nothing to do with anything other than the natural course of aging. That means your resting metabolic rate," Madelyn Fernstrom, PhD, director of the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center Weight Management Center and associate director of the UPMC Nutrition Center in Pittsburgh, tells WebMD.

how to boost metabolism after 40


For new moms, it’s a win just to slip in a shower and brush your teeth. And though it seems impossible, you can make working out work. Ansels says that finding a gym with child care or subscribing to online workouts that you can do during naps can be a big help. For an active recovery, take long walks with your baby in his or her stroller—and you might be surprised how quickly you can bounce back into shape, says Ansel. Exercises That Should Be Done Weekly By Women Over 40 Years Of Age
Muscles are what keeps our metabolism high and as we age, our muscles slowly start to get smaller, therefore allowing our metabolism to slow down. To counteract this, Shapiro recommends that we start lifting weights. “No, you won’t get big and bulky. In fact, you’ll stay lean,” she says. That’s because weight training causes you to burn more calories per workout than cardio sessions, and you continue to burn them post workout. And that’s not all—click here to discover 40 Ways to Lose 4 Inches of Body Fat!
At 64 years old, Kim Basinger has been acting for nearly 50 years. The beautiful blonde began modelling in New York in the 1970s before moving to LA to pursue her acting career. She stared in Tim Burton’s Batman and won a golden globe for her role in Confidential. The mother of one and ex-wife of Alex Baldwin. Still smoking, so much so that she even appears in 50 Shades Darker.
SOURCES: Madelyn Fernstrom, PhD, director of the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center Weight Management Center and associate director of the UPMC Nutrition Center in Pittsburgh. Pamela Peeke, MD, assistant clinical professor of medicine at the University of Maryland School of Medicine in Baltimore. Michi Yukawa, MD, MPH, acting instructor, department of medicine, division of gerontology and geriatric medicine at the University of Washington in Seattle.
Women have plenty to say, and these mellowed voices of women with a few years behind them and many years ahead of them speak into so many areas of my life. From the joy of adoption to the trials (and laughter) of menopause to the beauty of aging gracefully, I found well-written essays that made me laugh and cry and those speak to my heart. This is the perfect Mother's Day gift and I'm giving several away to friends "of an age". 3 Simple Steps That Shrink & Incinerate "Over 40" Belly Fat
“Many women find themselves sacrificing so much for their significant others, their children, their careers, and their volunteer service that by the time 40 hits, they haven’t done anything for themselves in years,” Honaman points out. “Retirement and empty-nesting will be here sooner than you think. Figure out who you are, and what you enjoy, so that you don’t wake up one day, look around, and wonder who that person is in the mirror.”

Hitting the pool is a great way to get your body into the best shape of your life, no matter what your age. A 155-pound woman can expect to burn nearly 500 calories an hour swimming at a relatively leisurely pace, adding another 200 calories to that number by doing some faster laps. For women over 40, low-impact exercises, like swimming, are particularly beneficial, thanks to the limited wear-and-tear they cause on joints, making it less likely an overuse injury will keep you benched.
3. Keep a food journal or use an app to track what you eat. As we get older, our metabolisms naturally slow down.  That means you need less food.  If you’re still eating as much as you did in your 30’s, you’ve probably had to buy a whole new wardrobe or 2 by now.  Apps like “My Fitness Pal” or “Lose It” help making weight loss goals easier by keeping you on track.  Or you can go old school and write everything down then look up the calories.  Not all calories are created equal, but one is for sure, taking in more than you burn leads to more body fat. 

Experts agree that including a weekly cheat meal into your healthy-eating plan can actually help you reach your weight loss goals. Having a strategy is key: “By planning your cheat meal, you know what you’ll be eating and can cut a few extra calories earlier in the day,” says Jim White, RD, ACSM Health Fitness Specialist and owner of Jim White Fitness & Nutrition Studios. “This also allows you to really pick a favorite food instead of wasting calories on something you didn’t enjoy.” Amy Shapiro, MS, RD, CDN, Real Nutrition NYC, gives similar advice. “Pick your poison. If you’re going out, pick your splurge. Are you going to dig into carbs like a bread basket or pasta or dessert? Or are you planning on tossing back a few cocktails?” She urges cheaters to avoid consuming all three of those common categories in one sitting. “Focus only on one,” she says, adding that by saving the others for another time you can “enjoy without going overboard.”

Eva Mendez has said she includes rice and beans, a dish she grew up with and adores, in her diet. Whether you're trying to lose weight or not, it's so important to eat foods you love on a regular basis. She also reportedly makes sure to drink plenty of water, which is essential for healthy hydration and to help move foods along in the system. My one caution with prescribing Eva's eating pattern: She's said to eat the same meals for lunch and dinner every day, while I think it's important to have variety in your diet – especially in terms of fruits and vegetables – to give you enough different nutrients. Having variety also helps beat boredom and ensures a great chance of sticking to a plan.
Having a salad for lunch or dinner fills you up with belly-flattening fiber and nutrients, and adding one more ingredient will really stoke your metabolism: salmon. You already learned the metabolism-boosting effects of protein, but with salmon in particular you'll also get a dose of omega-3 fatty acids. In a study published in the Journal of the International Society of Sports Nutrition, supplementing diets with fish oil for six weeks increased lean muscle and decreased fat. Other studies have shown similar effects. Scientists speculate this reaction may be due to fish oil's ability to reduce levels of fat-storage enzymes in the body.

hormones and weight gain after 50


I’m 64 and was in the same boat, Barbara. Stressed, long hours at work, family obligations, with no time for the gym or to go on weekend bike rides with my friends. I started walking the 3 miles to and from work as the most efficient way to get daily exercise. As a bonus, the walking helped relieve my mental stress, to some degree. (I am lucky to have a pleasant and safe 3 mile route to work, and realize not everyone is so lucky.) Despite all that walking, though, I gained 15-20 pounds over 2 years. This year, I got a little more time to take up weekend biking again, but still the weight did not budge. So, I decided to try Weight Watchers when I found that there is an on-line only option (who needs another weekly meeting to go to when she is already stressed for time?). It turned out to be the key for me. I have lost 37 pounds in 4.5 months and am now only 6 pounds from my target (what I think is my ideal) weight. You can have your Fitbit feed into the WW app on your phone, making it easy to track your walking and biking contributions to “fitpoints”, which help to determine how much you can eat and still lose weight. What WW really does is make you mindful of everything you eat (because you log it all on an easy to use phone app), and guides you to making better choices (basically, avoid processed foods, white flour, white rice, sweets, etc most of the time, though you can have all of these once in a while and still stick to the plan). For me, the plan has been easy to follow; I rarely feel deprived on it. There are no special foods or supplements to buy, I can go to restaurants or to meals at the homes of friends and relatives and either choose the most suitable items available to eat, or make up for excesses pretty easily either before or after the fact. I don’t know if my plan will work for you or others, but wanted to throw it out as an option in case it might.
The paleo diet has been picking up steam over the years thanks to its promise for a fitter physique and optimal health. Everyday Health explains the paleo diet only allows you to eat foods that were available for human consumption millions of years ago. That means all processed foods are out — but that’s not all. True paleo followers also don’t consume dairy, grains, or legumes.
When you’re busy with work, kids, and life, you can be tempted to grab food on-the-go or multitask through a meal. But you’re more likely to overeat -- and be hungry again soon after -- if you don’t focus on your food. Sit down for meals and tune in to what’s on your plate (not what’s on your TV or computer screen). That helps your brain realize when you’ve had enough.
If you've ever wondered how your favourite celebrities maintain their svelte figure, you're not alone. We admire their perfect bikini bodies from afar, assuming it's all because of their personal trainers and live-in chefs--and while that may be true, it's also because of their strict diets. Just in time for beach season, we're sharing the ten diets celebrities swear get them in tip-top shape. Surprising Foods That Slow Down Your Metabolism
Don’t look know, but kamut is going to be your go-to grain in no time. In addition to being full of Omega-3s and fiber, kamut is also a trusty source of protein; just one cup yields 10 grams. What’s more, per research in the European Journal of Clinical Nutrition, high-cholesterol-ridden folks who swapped kamut in place of refined grains (say, rice) saw their total cholesterol levels plummet to normal within two months.
At the height of Billy Bob Thornton’s career, rumors swirled about his crazy lifestyle. Aside from the gossip about his taste for blood, the story that he only ate orange food was one of the oddest.  A vegan with allergies to dairy, wheat and shellfish, Thornton’s skin reportedly turned orange because of all the carrots he consumed.  He says it all started when his papaya breakfast fascination set the press in a tailspin. “I eat papaya every morning -- it's orange. It's not all I have all day, but it is orange.” Glad he cleared that up.
A 2003 study demonstrated that a low-calorie diet that’s rich in almonds could help people shed weight. Not only do the good monounsaturated fats in almonds have an effect on insulin levels, say scientists, but also give dieters a feeling of fullness, meaning that they are less likely to overeat. So stock your pantry with almonds, walnuts, and nut butter. What's Making You So Hungry?
Exercise regularly and amp up your intensity. I can't tell you how many people just let exercise slide as they get older; then they turn around and blame their sluggish metabolism on their hormones. I'll be honest — I don't like to exercise. But the reality is, we have to do it. Your body needs exercise the way it needs oxygen and water. It's crucial to maintain muscle mass as you age: A pound of muscle burns three times more calories than a pound of fat does, and muscles scoop up blood sugar and enhance your body's insulin sensitivity. Try to challenge yourself and intensify your workouts by adding 20 minutes of resistance training or by increasing the incline on the treadmill. The main point? Continue to strengthen your muscles so they will help you burn more calories.

how to lose fat after 40


With a jam-packed schedule, the “Your Song” singer relies on one go-to breakfast to kick off her day right. “I always have egg whites with salmon every morning without fail, I don’t eat anything else,” she told PEOPLE.  “Or I have like boiled eggs with salmon. I always have a bit of protein and I don’t have normal scrambled eggs, I do egg whites.” And her regimented diet continues throughout the day. “I don’t have any breads, and I just have like chicken, and vegetables and I drink a lot of juices and a lot of water,” she added.

Experts say weight training is the best way to crank up your resting metabolic rate. "As you get older, your resting metabolic rate drops, but weight training can rev it right back up again: A pound of muscle burns up to nine times the calories a pound of fat does," explains fitness expert Westcott. In fact, a woman who weighs 130 pounds and is muscular burns more calories than a sedentary 120-pound woman of the same height. Regular strength training can increase your resting metabolic rate anywhere from 6.8 to 7.8 percent. (That means that if you weigh 120 pounds, you could burn around 100 more calories a day, even when you're just watching TV.)
If you’re an avid reader of Eat This, Not That! You likely know that low-fat foods aren’t the best for neither your waistline nor your health. Many seemingly diet-friendly foods that are labeled low in fat sneak in added sugars to make up for the lack of flavor that results from stripping out the fat. And when it comes to yogurt, which already contains natural sugar in the form of lactose, you definitely don’t want the extra added sweet stuff. Not to mention, fats found in dairy have been shown to keep you satiated and slim down your gut.

best way to lose belly fat in woman


Your phone company might have a recycling program. I know here in Australia we have a variety of companies that recycle or reuse old phones. Just make sure you wipe your data off the phone before getting rid of it. Some companies have a box you can put the phone, batteries and accessories in and some you go to there website and register and you can print out a label to put on your box and it helps with postage.

best way to lose stomach fat female

×